Tags

, , , , ,

Today’s Quote

“Timing, perseverance, and ten years of trying will eventually make you look like an overnight success.” – Biz Stone

I know every one of my readers has heard the statement: If it’s too good to be true; it isn’t. That’s what this quote tells me. Regardless of the field you pursue, there is one underlying truth–you won’t be great without putting in the hard work. There really is no substitute.

Another thing we need to do well with our pursuits is to have an underlying reason or passion for the pursuit. Perhaps you survived a disease and want to tell your story. Maybe you’ve seen the suffering of others and want to educate people so they can avoid the same fate. Whatever your reasoning, it must be something that wakes you up–really excites you.

I’m a really big Tim Ferris fan. The stuff he publishes is just so “common sense”. Why would you do something if you’re not interested in doing it?

Don’t get me wrong, there’s always that one thing we don’t like to do (clean the bathroom, do laundry, make the bed, etc.). What Tim is referring to is the stuff we really don’t have to do if we don’t want to. Why would you push yourself through a book that you just aren’t interested in? I used to do this a lot. I would start to read a book and for some reason, even after I’ve decided the story just isn’t there for me, I would continue to trudge through the book regardless because I wanted to finish what I started. No more.

This is just one small example of volunteering to be miserable. If the task you have to do isn’t super important or necessary, drop doing it, at least for today. Maybe tomorrow you’ll feel like doing it. Maybe not. Do the things you are passionate about.

On a side note, there will be things that you have to do that you may not like to do initially but grow on you over time. Exercise is one of them. Many people do not like exercising. They just don’t want to do it. This is one exception to the rule above–there will be things that are super important and necessary that you need to do. If you don’t like doing them, try to experiment with different ways you can do these things so you do like them. Maybe a small reward for yourself each time you hit the gym or do that task. Use your creativity.

Until tomorrow…

Dave

 

