Tags

, , ,

“Define success on your own terms, achieve it by your own rules, and build a life you’re proud to live.” – Anne Sweeney

Being successful is not about what someone else tells you success is. It is what you say it is–for you. Do not let others dictate what success is for you. Success is what you want it to be.

Achieving success can be problematic, particularly if we set rules for ourselves that no one else is following. What do I mean by this statement? Think about how many people want to achieve success but only if a certain this or certain that happens. Imagine someone who is really good at sports trying to be successful at something they are not good at. This is what I mean. If I choose to be an artist and consider myself successful because I can draw what I like and enjoy the life I have, then I am a success. I do not define myself a failure because I cannot do all of the things I would like to do. I define myself a success because I am doing what I love and enjoy the life I have.

When Anne Sweeney says “…build a life you’re proud to live.”, it relates directly to the first two points she makes. It is about the life YOU are proud of, the success YOU define, and the method YOU use to attain it. If you believe you are successful and you achieved what you defined as success, how could you not be proud of this?

There are a great many things to ponder when you really dig into this quote. I hope all of my readers had a terrific Saturday!

See you tomorrow…

 

