Tags

, ,

Happy Father’s Day!

My Dad (pictured above on the left) raised three kids and took care of our family.

When I look at my life I recognize how hard it is to support a family. The endless hours of work, the constant worry, the stresses of day-to-day existence, coupled with a sprinkling of injuries, diseases, troubles, and all the rest.

Last year my Dad was diagnosed with Vascular Dementia. This is a type of Dementia that is caused by poor circulation (he was a smoker for more than 50 years). I retired early in December to spend my time with my Mom and Dad (both in their 70s) to make sure they had someone to take care of them and not miss any more time with them.

I never thought at the age of 53 that I’d be back home taking care of my folks, but here I am. It is truly a blessing to have the ability to spend time with the people that bore you, raised you, and supported you throughout your life. After a month or so of returning home, I realized how blessed this situation was. I get to wake up to my folks every day, hang out with them, and enjoy them. I’ve missed a lot of years and do not want to miss anymore.

My move back home has also reduced the stress on my sister, who was the only sibling in Michigan before my return.

I hope each reader who is a Father has a tremendous day. I also hope each of you reaches out to your Father by phone, email, or text, thanking them for the sacrifices they’ve made to raise and support you.

Dads are the best.

See you tomorrow…

