Tags

, , , ,

“Talk low, talk slow and don’t say too much.” John Wayne

I grew up watching John Wayne on Television and at the movie theater. He was one of my childhood heroes.

His quote above is not from one of his movies. It suggests good communication. This quote requires us to take the time to speak clearly, at a normal level of volume, and to speak concisely. By doing so, we save our listeners time. Our message is clear and easily understood.

This is something I continue to think about. I tend to be a little “wordy” when I speak, sometimes missing the point I’m trying to make altogether because I think I like to hear myself speak 😊. This practice is not a good one since it tends to take away our ability to truly get our point across and allow another person to clarify what we have said and then respond.

This is a terrific pointer for me and one that I will carry with me. I want to be a better verbal communicator. This will save time, make conversation with me more fluid, and allow others to interact with me more easily.

Does this make sense to everyone? If so, feel free to acknowledge that in the comments or even provide examples of situations when you were too wordy.

Thanks for stopping by!

See you tomorrow…

