Tags

, , ,

“If you tell people where to go, but not how to get there, you’ll be amazed at the results.” – George S. Patton

General Patton is one of my heroes. As we approach Memorial Day, I felt this quote appropriate for today’s Daily Quote.

This quote is about leading people. Have you ever been micromanaged? Do you recall how limiting this type of leadership was when you experienced it? Micromanagers don’t trust anyone. They monitor every single thing their people do because deep down they believe that other people are out to get them. Imagine how frustrating it would be to work for someone like this.

If you are a worker, doing the same tasks every day, you will come upon ways to improve what you do. Something that will achieve better results. Maybe it will help you get the job done more quickly. Maybe it will save your company money. Maybe the idea you have can be marketed and sold. The possibilities are endless unless you have a micromanager for a boss.

Believe it or not, some people micromanage themselves. This is also a really inefficient way to live your life. Take a risk, make a change, listen to your intuition. There is always a better way to do things. If you pay attention you’ll arrive upon one of these solutions that allow you to do the job better, faster, and cheaper than you did initially.

Here’s an example. I have been posting daily quotes to Facebook, LinkedIn, Twitter, and Google+ for years. I finally got to the point that there had to be a more efficient way to do this. So, here we are—Daily Quotes on WordPress that I broadcast to each of these social media networks daily. I also get to talk a little to my audience about a quote and what it means to me. Maybe it connects with someone; maybe it doesn’t. The key here is that I didn’t let my internal micromanager get in my way. I trusted my inner voice and went with it.

Well, that’s it for today folks. I hope you enjoyed the quote and my feelings about it.

Until tomorrow…

