Tags

, , , , ,

“The liar’s punishment is not in the least that he is not believed, but that he cannot believe anyone else.” – George Bernard Shaw

“I learned long ago, never to wrestle with a pig. You get dirty, and besides, the pig likes it.” – George Bernard Shaw

“Beware of false knowledge; it is more dangerous than ignorance.” – George Bernard Shaw

George Bernard Shaw is the author of today’s quotes. The first relates to personal character. We all tend to criticize others who reflect the truth of who we are. Whenever I hear someone knock someone else or criticize what someone else does, I automatically begin looking for that same thing in the person who is launching the criticism. This truism rarely misses its mark. Try this out sometime. If you are truly aware of yourself, try this anytime you criticize someone. You’ll be amazed at what you discover.

The second quote is plain funny, but there is wisdom here as well. Think about arguing with someone who enjoys arguing for arguing sake. I think this is what George was referring to when he wrote this quote.

The third quote is particularly appropriate in light of today’s “fake” news. I’ve never been a big news reader, partly because it is always biased and overblown to get ratings (regardless of the political camp). Instead, I read a lot of books. They are more entertaining, insightful, and I always learn a great deal. If I do look at the news, it is normally the news links on my iPhone or Google News when I’m on my computer. That takes about 5 minutes 😊.

See you tomorrow!!

